Single mom back to college at 40 years old

Single mom back to college at 40 years old

From Barbara Gomez Lopez

I am raising money to pay for my bachelors degree in psychology. After many years I tried to go back to school but being a single mom was hard enough working two jobs and going back to school was not doable.

Support this campaign

Subscribe to follow campaign updates!

More Info

I am a single mom of three boys, well!... two men and one teenager (25, 23, 16), I only have the 16 year old at home and he is in junior year of high school.  I work full time as a nurse assistant at a veterans hospital.  I am going full time to school.  My school is between 50 to 60 minutes away from my town.  I work pm shift 3:30 pm until midnight.  I will travel this semester Monday through Friday for school and in most days I will go to school during the day and then go home change and head to work until midnight.  My mom lives with me also and I take care of her too, she helps with the cooking, and I do everything else.  I  did study in 2003 a Respiratory Care Technician degree and obtained a diploma in Puerto Rico.  I could not carry my license to the states because the school was not accredited with the National Board of Respiratory Care.  The University of Viterbo in La Crosse WI, accredited most of my credits which no other university did and that is why I chose to go to this school.  It is expensive but it did cut my schooling in half.  Hoping I can finish in 2022 and keep going for my Masters so I can become a certified counselor in mental health or behavior (have not decided which one).  I have always had two jobs when my kids were growing up and in school.  I served 6 years in the Army National Guard as well and I love working with the veterans now.  I want to help my sons achieve their goals and put my last son through college.  I also want to secure my retirement, if I graduate my odds of getting a better paying job will multiply.  I do have federal and state help with paying my school, but I will have to pay out of pocket about 3,000 dollars each semester.  The 25,000 will help cover until I graduate for each semester.  Books I will rent online because is cheaper.  Gas money will also be needed and wear and tear of the car.  I do have a good car Honda Civic 2013 with great mileage and I keep its maintenance up to date to be able to travel.  Help me get my bachelors degree therefore I can give a better life to my kids and my mom and pay it forward.  I know I will be a great counselor and I will not let anyone down that helps me through this beautiful journey.  God Bless!!

Campaign Wall

Join the Conversation

Sign in with your Facebook account or

Help Barbara Gomez raise $25,000 by making a donation.